It’s party time, ladies and gentlemen. Just one month after introducing the move, Search engines giant Google has modified its terms and conditions, authorizing the company to use your profile information in ads. That means your face; name and private information will start popping up all over your network. Yay!
So how does that make you feel? Google obviously wants you to feel okay about the changes. The company assured users in its announcement blog post, “On Google, you’re in control of what you share.” (Emphasis Google’s) And that’s technically true. You can opt out of the face-flaunting new feature through this settings page in Google+, but if you don’t do anything, Google says it will use your information without explicit consent.
Ugh. Doing anything from leaving a YouTube comment to starring something in Google Play to giving it the +1 treatment will cause your face to show up on ads. (Users under 18, however, will not appear in ads.) Google is also somewhat vague about who will see your face: “So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1’d.” Facebook, however, is less vague: “If you have selected a specific audience for your content or information, we will respect your choice when we use it.”
Obviously, Google wants to avoid the shitstorm that Facebook has endured, so they’re trying to be better communicators. That doesn’t detract from the fact that the search giant is going to start slinging your face and name all over the internet without your explicit consent. You’ll be notified with some banner ads on Google’s homepage before the new Terms of Service goes into effect on November 1. But it’s up to you—and only you—to opt out if you don’t like that. [Google via NYT]